scouring the topography

The topography of my heart ~ jagged shards that pierce and draw blood :: tender, silken flesh, glowing with warmth :: the bitter taste of regret and grief :: an inhospitable, icy tundra :: hungry flames of passion that want, that compulsively and without contemplation consume all in their path.

I have begun to scour the landscape of my heart ~ the topography of its flesh, shards, even its flames and ice. Often, I cannot seem to reconcile the facts with the truth. Truth feels and looks so far-removed from the facts. Perhaps it transcends the minutia of fact. I dunno.

Here’s what I do know.

  1. We must offer forgiveness in order to receive it.
  2. Forgiveness and love increase in their value with our difficulty in giving them.
  3. Taking responsibility for one’s own actions sometimes feels unpleasant. Its the only path to freedom, however.
  4. Unconditional loving fucking hurts.
  5. The more I learn, the less I feel I know.
~ by frizzyscissorhands on August 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
