vestiges of a marriage

And so, for the past 3 days I have spent time rummaging through the last vestiges of my former life ~ as a wife, a yuppy, and a consumer-driven, stuff-collecting middle-class zombie. For the first time in years, I fished my wedding dress from its box, encased in its plastic dress-bag, and complete with veil and head-piece. I’d even saved the shopping bag in which the head-piece came. And then, I came across the matching ‘granny boots.’ How different, the shoes I wear now, and the steps I take in said shoes.

For the last time, I washed and folded his clothes ~ bits and pieces he’d left behind. I sanitized and purged. Washed so many blankets, even a few pillows, and … also the shower curtains! I do suppose that’s my OCPD creeping out … organize, de-clutter, strive for perfection. I’m molting my marriage skin.

~ by frizzyscissorhands on September 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
